Washington University

Division of Biology & Biomedical Sciences


The Division of Biology and Biomedical Sciences (DBBS) offers exceptional doctoral training at one of the nation's preeminent biomedical research centers. The DBBS is organized into twelve academic programs, each representing a different scientific area.

Prospective students apply to the Division rather than to an individual program. Students are admitted into a specific program but may change their Program affiliation as their interests develop. Faculty members from 30 plus departments across the university contribute to the admission, teaching and research training of the Division's students. Each Program has its own steering committee to provide students with personal attention, guiding them and addressing their needs during the first years of training. Steering committee members are conversant with the broad range of opportunities available to the student pursuing a graduate degree at Washington University, and they work for a precise match of interest, aptitude, Program and course of study.

Each of the 12 Programs establishes its own requirements for earning the PhD degree, and progress toward the degree is monitored by the Program steering committee. The PhD degree is granted by Washington University's Graduate School of Arts and Sciences.


DBBS Links

Home Page

Medical Scientist Training Program (MD/PhD)

Faculty research interests

Seminar and events calendar